Move to main content
Index> About > Certificate Authority of MOI

Certificate Authority of MOI

This Certificate Authority is part of the e-Government Information Safety Infrastructure Plan. It's the "Authentication Organ" for electronic signatures in our country. It is responsible for issuing the public key certificates of authentication for nationals of our country who are above 18 years of age. It also provides for other citizens information safety in using the e-Government's various internet services.
Two Main Goals of this Certificate Authority are:

To plan and set up a Certificate Authority so as to provide a reliable information security mechanism

The Government Public Key Infrastructure (GPKI) is an authentication management stratum structure. The Government Root CA (GRCA) under the Ministry of Digital Affairs is the Trust Anchor of the entire GPKI. It issues Certificates of Authentication to GPKI's subordinate CA. This Center belongs to GPKI's Level 1 Subordinate CA, and follows GPKI's Certificate Policy (CP). It issues and manages public certificates for citizens of our nation who are under 18 years of age in accordance with the requirements of the third grade guarantee.

In standard Public Key Infrastructure (PKI), CA plays the role of ensuring the correctness of encrypting the public key. To set up and maintain a reliable information security mechanism is the focus in planning this center

To advance e-Government's applications development, thereby enhancing our nation's competitiveness

The electronic certificates infrastructure of the e-Government embraces PKI and PMI. It provides Public-Key Certificate and Attribute Certificate services for G2G, G2B and G2C identification and certification.
In PMI development relevant to citizens, the competent department, in line with respective power and responsibility, can set up AA and RA to issue Attribute Certificates for citizens. This will include following electronic licenses and certificates:

  • Personnel identification cards: Civil servants identification, students identification, institution personnel identification, citizens identification, membership identification, and so on.
  • Technician licenses: drivers' license, land agent license, and licenses for various professional technicians such as electrical, civil engineering and medical technicians.

The paper certificates will gradually be turned into electronic certificates, thereby creating an unobstructed electronic service environment.

    The Certificate Authority is subdivided into:
  • Implementation group, IC card and card reader price review group, maintenance group, formulation of standard authentication processes and revision group, customer service center, card center, registration center, and auditing group.
  • The implementation group is also subdivided into various comprehensive processes teams.
  • The registration authority is subdivided into various registration windows.